Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Monash Music and Multimedia Collection
This page offers a selection of works for piano. In most cases, when you click the blue hypertext title for each work you will see a record with a subject which will take you to further works for piano.
Method books, études, studies and exercises are found at 786.2, a good area to browse. Some older editions are now online.
See also ATS2060 Teaching Music Performance: Piano
S/SF scores in the library are arranged by Composer A-Z. Works for piano are at 5. For example: SF780 B118 5/I where we have different editions of Bach's BWV 772-801, the Inventions and Sinfonias. You can find the facsimile edition at SF780 B118 5/T.
Journals and Databases
Databases & Journals at Monash University Library
Monash University Library has tens of thousands of journals available online and in print.
Click the tabs above to see some of the best journals publishing new research in Piano.
Monash University Library offers students access to databases of academic literature as well as sound and video collections.
Click the tabs above to access some of the databases collections.
Naxos music library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the "world's largest online classical music library." Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month...
Finding Piano Resources
DVDs, CD's, Scores and other music items for Piano are located on Level 1 of the Matheson Library, and can be most easily found by using Monash Library Search to find a Call Number.
Books & Audiovisual
Check out the instrumental overview for Piano at the Australian Music Centre.
Art of Piano Playing by Neuhaus taught at the Moscow Conservatory and his pupils included some of the greatest pianists of the twentieth century: Emil Gilels, Sviatoslav Richter, Nina Svetlanova, Alexei Lubimov and Radu Lupu. His legacy continues today and many teachers around the world regard this book as the most authoritative on the subject of piano playing.
Call Number: 786.2193 N397A
The Thirty-Two Piano Sonatas of Ludwig Van Beethoven: A handbook for performers by The thirty-two Piano Sonatas of Ludwig van Beethoven form one of the most important segments of piano literature. In this accessible, compact, and comprehensive guidebook, renowned performer and pedagogue Stewart Gordon presents the pianist with historical insights and practical instructionaltools for interpreting the pieces.In the opening chapters of Beethoven's 32 Piano Sonatas, Gordon illuminates the essential historical context behind common performance problems, discussing Beethoven's own pianos and how they relate to compositional style and demands in the pieces, and addressing textual issues, performancepractices, and nuances of the composer's manuscript inscriptions. In outlining patterns of structure, sonority, keyboard technique, and emotional meaning evident across Beethoven's compositional development, Gordon provides important background and technical information key to understanding hisworks in context. Part II of the book presents each sonata in an outline-chart format, giving the student and teacher ready access to essential information, interpretive choices, and technical challenges in the individual works, measure by measure, all in one handy reference source. In considerationof the broad diversity of today's Beethoven interpreters, Gordon avoids one-size-fits-all solutions or giving undue weight to his own tastes and preferences. Instead, he puts the choices in the hands of the performers, enabling them to create their own personal relationship with the music and a morepowerful performance.
Publication Date: 2017
Journey of a Thousand Miles Fans all over the world are in awe of the Chinese pianist Lang Lang's magnificent talent and won over by his immense charm. The excitement his performances evoke is well documented in the legions of reviews and profiles about him. What is less known, however, is the heart-wrenching story of his journey from a young prodigy in an industrial city in northern China to one of the greatest pianists of our time. Journey of a Thousand Miles documents the remarkable story of a boy and his father who sacrificed almost everything--family, financial security, Lang Lang's childhood, and their reputation in China's insular classical music world--for the belief in a young boy's talent. An engaging, informative cultural commentator who bridges east and west, Lang Lang has written more than an autobiography; his story opens a door to Chinese culture at a time when the world's attention will be on Beijing. Written with David Ritz, the coauthor of many bestselling autobiographies, Journey of a Thousand Miles is an inspiring story that will give readers new insight into China and classical music, and appreciation for the courage and sacrifice it takes to achieve artistic greatness.
Publication Date: 2008
Leschetizky's Fundamental Principles of Piano Technique by Polish-born prodigy Theodor Leschetizky (1830-1915) studied with Carl Czerny and went on to an international career as both a pianist and conductor. His greatest fame lies in his teaching method: the most celebrated piano instructor of his era, he taught at the St. Petersburg Conservatory and later in Vienna. His students included such luminaries as Ignacy Paderewski and Artur Schnabel. Another of the great teacher’s prize students, Marie Prentner, recorded the principles and techniques of the celebrated Leschetizky Method. Authentic and complete in its presentation, Prenter's guide features numerous illustrations, exercises, and examples from piano literature. The two-part treatment begins with explanations of hand and finger positions and proceeds to discussions of the pianist’s touch, covering such topics as diatonic and chromatic scales; trills, chords, and arpeggios; double notes, thirds, and sixths; and octaves. The second part focuses on musical performance, offering advice on playing Bach and Handel, and explaining the fundamentals of rhythm, pedaling, melody, practice techniques, and musical culture. Difficult to locate in the past, this legendary manual promises to assist and enlighten a new generation of students and teachers.
Call Number: 786.2143 P927L 2005
Publication Date: 1903 (2005)
Mozart's Piano Sonatas Mozart's piano sonatas form a richly diverse and significant part of his instrumental output and span much of his mature composing career, thereby representing a microcosm of the composer's changing style. Part I examines the contexts in which the sonatas were composed and performed, and reviews likely sources of influence. Part II concentrates on the genesis of the sonatas and the sources, which reveals important information about Mozart's compositional process. In Part III the musical style is studied from the standpoint of rhetoric--a discipline featured in numerous contemporary aesthetic and theoretical textbooks on music.
Learning Skills Advisers