Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Work of Art/Image, Graph, Figure, Table

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Page Contents

Work of Art/Image, Graph, Figure, Table

 

Work of Art (viewed in person)

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Artists First Name, Artists Last Name, “Title of work,” Year in which work of art was produced. Medium. Place the work of art was viewed.

Example of Note entry

1. Auguste Rodin, The Thinker, 1880-81. Bronze sculpture. Cleveland Museum of Art.

Subsequent Note entry

 2. Rodin, The Thinker.

Rule for Bibliography

Artists Last Name, Artists First Name, “Title of work,” Year in which work of art was produced. Medium.  Place the work of art was viewed.

Example of Bibliography entry

Rodin, Auguste. The Thinker, 1880-81. Bronze sculpture. Cleveland Museum of Art.

 

Work of Art (Print)

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Artists First Name, Artists Last Name, “Title of work,” Year in which work of art was produced. Medium.  Source: Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. Claude Monet, "Haystack at Sunset Near Giverny," 1891. Oil on Canvas. Source: William C Seitz, Claude Monet 1840 – 1926 (London: Thames and Hudson, 1984), 114.

Subsequent Note entry

   2. Monet, "Haystack at Sunset”.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

Seitz, William C. Claude Monet 1840 – 1926. London: Thames and Hudson, 1984.

 

Work of Art (Online/Database)

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Artists First Name, Artists Last Name, “Title of work,” Year in which work of art was produced. Medium. Source:  "Title of Webpage (if one exists)" Name of Website, date last modified, date accessed, URL.

Example of Note entry

     1. Adam Jones, “Details of Grave of Oskar Schindler – Old City – Jerusalem – Israel – 02,” 2011. Photograph.  Source: Flickr, posted 1 May, 2011, accessed 19 June, 2014, http://www.flickr.com/photos/adam_jones/5676126945.

Subsequent Note entry

 2. Jones, “Details of Grave of Oskar Schindler”.

Rule for Bibliography

Artists First Name, Artists Last Name. “Title of work,” Year in which work of art was produced. Medium. "Title of Webpage (if available)". Name of Website. Date last modified. URL.

Example of Bibliography entry

Jones, Adam. “Detail of Grave of Oskar Schindler - Old City - Jerusalem - Israel.” 2011. Photograph. Flickr. Posted 1 May, 2011. http://www.flickr.com/photos/adam_jones/5676115255/.

 
Image/Graph/Figue/Table

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Follow the rules for the source from which you obtained the image specified elsewhere in this guide for example book, website, journal, etc, then add the Image, Graph, Figue or Table Number.

Example of Note entry

1. Richard Sobel, ed., Public Opinion in US Foreign Policy: The Controversy over Contra Aid (Boston: Rowman and Littlefield, 1993), 87, table 5.3.

Subsequent Note entry

2. Sobel, 89, table 5.6.

Rule for Bibliography

Follow the rules for the source from which you obtained the image specified elsewhere in this guide for example bookwebsitejournal, etc, then add the Image, Graph, Figue or Table Number.

Example of Bibliography entry

Sobel, Richard ed., Public Opinion in US Foreign Policy: The Controversy over Contra Aid. Boston: Rowman and Littlefield, 1993.