Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Journals/Periodicals

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Journals / Periodicals

Journal article in an online database

Format

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, issue, year, page range of article. Database, URL.

Example

Kuehn, Julia. “Realism's Connections: George Eliot's and Fanny Lewald's Poetics.” George Eliot - George Henry Lewes Studies, vol. 68, no. 2, 2016, pp. 91-115. JSTOR, doi:10.5325/georelioghlstud.68.2.0091.

Kafka, Ben. "The Demon of Writing: Paperwork, Public Safety, and the Reign of Terror." Representations, no.98, 2007, pp. 1-24. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/222828324?accountid=12528.

Explanation

Databases contain many articles from a range of journals. In the first example above, the name of the journal is George Eliot - George Henry Lewes Studies, and it can be found in the database JSTOR. In most instances, you will access a journal article through an online database, although you can also access them in print copies held in the library, or directly through the journal's online homepage.

Journals are sometimes referred to as Periodicals.

"Vol." is an abbreviation of "volume", and "no." refers to the issue number. Not all journal articles have a volume and an issue number, some instead number all the issues in sequence (see second example).

Some journal articles will have a DOI (digital object identifier), which is a permanent identifier to the article (see first example). As URLs can change, it is preferable to use a DOI instead of a URL. If the article does not have a DOI, then use the URL (see second example).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Journal Article

Format

Last nameFirst name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, issue, month year, page range of article.

Example

Mather, Christine C. "The Political Afterlife of Eleonara Duse." Theatre Survey, vol. 45, no.1, May 2004, pp. 41-59.

Belton, John. "Painting by numbers: The Digital Intermediate." Film Quarterly, vol. 61, no.3, Spring 2008, pp.58-65.

Explanation

The above citations are for a print copy of the journal article. It is highly likely that you will have accessed the journal online, in which case, refer to "Journal article in an online database".

Not all journals include the month; if this is the case, then simply omit the information. If you do include the month, then abbreviate it to the first three letters of the name of the month (if it is more than four letters long), as shown in the first example. There is no need to put a comma between day, month and year, to minimise the number of commas.

Seasons can be included if the journal provides that information. They should be capitalised, and should follow the issue number, as shown in the second example.

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Journal article with two authors

Format

Last nameFirst name, and First name Last name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, issue, year, page range of article.

Example

Bobkowski, Piotr, and Jessica Smith. "Social media divide: characteristics of emerging adults who do not use social network websites." Media, Culture & Society, vol. 35 no. 6, 2013, pp. 771-781.

Robillard, Candence, and Jacqueline Bach. "Mindful Poetry: Making the Strange Familiar." English Journal vol. 104 no.4, 2015, pp. 83-89. ProQuest Central, search.proquest.com/docview/1664929498?accountid=12528.

Explanation

When a source has two authors, follow the same rules as those for books and other works. Include the names in the order they are presented in the work. Reverse the first of the names, follow it with a comma and and, and give the second name in normal order.

The first example above is for a print journal article, and the second is for one found in an online database (ProQuest).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Journal article with three or more authors

Format

Last name, First name, et al. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, issue, year, pages.

Example

Seo, Hyunjin, et al. "Teens’ social media use and collective action." New Media & Society, vol.16, no. 6, 2014, pp.883-902.

Explanation

If there are three or more authors, name the first author and add et al. ("and others").