Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Government sources / industry reports

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Page Contents

Government sources / Industry Reports

Government Document, print

Required Information

Authors first and last name (if available) or Title of Responsible Body , ‘Title of Document’, Edition (if required), (Place of publication: publisher, year published), page number/s.

First Footnote

 Australian Government, Department of Health, 'The Australian Immunization Handbook', 10th edn, (Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2013), p. 24

Subsequent  footnotes

Australian Government, 'The Australian Immunization Handbook', p. 11.

Note: Only use the shortened version of the title if more than one text by the same author has been referred to. 

Bibliography

  Australian Government, Department of Health, 'The Australian Immunization Handbook', 10th edn, (Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2013)

 

Government Document, online

Required Information Authors first and last name (if available) or Title of Responsible Body , ‘Title of Document’, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication) <URL> [accessed date]
First Footnote

1 Australian Government, Office of The Australian Information Commissioner,  Privacy Factsheet 17: Australian Privacy Principles (Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2014) <http://www.oaic.gov.au/images/documents/privacy/privacy-resources/privacy-fact-sheets/privacy-fact-sheet-17-australian-privacy-principles_2.pdf> [5 March 2014] (p.2).

Subsequent  footnotes

2 Australian Government, Privacy Factsheet 17, p.4.

Note: Only use the shortened version of the title if more than one text by the same author has been referred to. 

Bibliography

  Australian Government, Office of The Australian Information Commissioner,  Privacy Factsheet 17: Australian Privacy Principles (Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2014) <http://www.oaic.gov.au/images/documents/privacy/privacy-resources/privacy-fact-sheets/privacy-fact-sheet-17-australian-privacy-principles_2.pdf> [5 March 2014]

 

Australian Bureau of Statistics, online

Required Information Australian Bureau of Statistics, Title of publication (including report number if available), (Year of latest issue, if available) <URL> [Date accessed].
First Footnote

1 Australian Bureau of Statistics, 6306.0 - Employee Earnings and Hours, Australia, May 2012, (2013) <http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/6306.0/> [19 August 2014]

Subsequent  footnotes

2 Australian Bureau of Statistics, 6306.0.
Bibliography

 Australian Bureau of Statistics, 6306.0 - Employee Earnings and Hours, Australia, May 2012, (2013) <http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/6306.0/> [19 August 2014]

 

Australian Standard, database

Required Information Organisation, 'Title of Standard', Edition (if required), (Place of publication: publisher, year of publication), in Title of Database <URL> [accessed date] page number.
First Footnote

Standards Australia, 'AS 6947-2009 Crossing of Waterways by Electical Structures', 2nd edn, (Sydney, NSW: Standards Australia, 2009) in SAI Global <http://www.saiglobal.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/online/Script/Details.asp?DocN=AS0733790526AT> [accessed 12 December 2013] p.9.

Subsequent  footnotes

Standards Australia, 'AS 6947-2009', p. 12.

Note: Only use the shortened version of the title if more than one text by the same author has been referred to. 

Bibliography

 Standards Australia, 'AS 6947-2009 Crossing of Waterways by Electrical Structures', 2nd edn, (Sydney, NSW: Standards Australia, 2009) in SAI Global <http://www.saiglobal.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/online/Script/Details.asp?DocN=AS0733790526AT> [accessed 12 December 2013]

 

Green and White Papers

Required Information Title of Responsible Body or Department (if available), Document Title, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page number/s.
First Footnote

Australian Government, Which Way Home? A New Approach to Homelessness,  (Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2008), p.34.

Subsequent  footnotes

Australian Government, Which Way Home?, p.42.

Note: Only use the shortened version of the title if more than one text by the same author has been referred to. 

Bibliography

 Australian Government, Which Way Home? A New Approach to Homelessness,  (Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2008)

 

Industry Report, database

Required Information Authors first name and last name, Title of Report, Date of Report in Title of database <URL> [accessed date] (section and paragraph)
First Footnote

Allen Allday, IBISWorld Industry Report D2811 Water Supply in Australia,  in IBISWorld <http://www.ibisworld.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/industry/default.aspx?indid=304> [26 August 2014]

Subsequent footnotes

Allday, IBISWorld Industry Report D2811.
Bibliography

 Allday, Allen, IBISWorld Industry Report D2811 Water Supply in Australia,  in;IBISWorld <http://www.ibisworld.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/industry/default.aspx?indid=304> [26 August 2014]