Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Recordings: Speech / Music / Film

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Recordings: Speech or Music, Film, Interview

Speech

Required Information

First and Last name of speaker, Title of Speech (Production Company, Date) [on format]

First Footnote

 Martin Luther King, A Knock at Midnight: Great Sermons of Martin Luther King Jr. (Time Warner Audio Books, 2006) [on CD]

Second and subsequent  footnotes

King, A Knock at Midnight.
Bibliography

King, Martin Luther, A Knock at Midnight: Great Sermons of Martin Luther King Jr. (Time Warner Audio Books, 2006) [on CD]

 

Speech from a database

Note: For recordings found online omit the word 'in' and the name of database.

Required Information

First and Last name of speaker, Title of Speech (Place of publication (in available): Publisher or Production Company, Date) in name of database <URL> [accessed date]

First Footnote

1 Barack Obama, President Obama's speech on Libya (Washington DC: The White House, 2001) in Alexander Street Press <http://search.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au
/view/work/2034261
> [Accessed 30 May 2012]

Second and subsequent  footnotes

2 Obama,  President Obama's speech on Libya.
Bibliography

Obama, Barack, President Obama's speech on Libya (Washington DC: The White House, 2001) in Alexander Street Press <http://search.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au
/view/work/2034261> [Accessed 30 May 2012]

 

Music Recording

Required Information

Authors First and Last name, Title of Musical Composition, Performer / conductor / artist / group (if appropriate) (Place of publication (if available): Publisher or Production Company, Date) [on format]

First Footnote

1 Jean-Claude Wolff, Symphony Number 2, cond. by Petr Vronsky (Vienna: Vienna Modern Masters, 1991) [on CD]

Second and subsequent  footnotes

 2 Wolff, Symphony Number 2.
Bibliography

Wollf, Jean-Cluade Symphony Number 2, Petr Vronsky (Vienna: Vienna Modern Masters, 1991) [on CD]

 

Music Recording from a database

Note: For a music recording found online omit the word 'in' and the name of database.

Required Information

Authors First and Last name, Title of Musical Composition, Performer / conductor / artist / group (if appropriate), (Place of publication (if available): Publisher or Production Company, Date) in name of database <URL> [accessed date]

First Footnote

 Johann Sebastian Bach, The Transcriptions of Concertos by Vivaldi, prod. by Gary Cole, perform. by Sohpie Yates (Brostol, England: Chandos, 2013) in Alexander Street Press <http://search.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/clmu/view/work/2209649>.

Second and subsequent  footnotes

 1 Bach, The Transcriptions of Concertos.
Bibliography

  Bach, Johann Sebastian, The Transcriptions of Concertos by Vivaldi, prod. by Gary Cole, perform. by Sohpie Yates (Brostol, England: Chandos, 2013) in Alexander Street Press <http://search.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/clmu/view/work/2209649> [accessed 21 November 2013]

 

Film recording

Required Information

Title of Film, dir. First and Last Name of Director/s, Performers (if appropriate), (Distributor, Date) [on format]

First Footnote

 A Clock Work Orange, dir. by Stanley Kubrick (Pyrmont, NSW: Warner Home Video, 2007) [on DVD]

Second and subsequent  footnotes

 A Clock Work Orange.
Bibliography

 A Clock Work Orange, dir. by Stanley Kubrick (Pyrmont, NSW: Warner Home Video, 2007) [on DVD]

 

Film recording from a database

Note: For a film recording found online omit the word 'in' and the name of database.

Required Information

 Title of Film, Dir. First and Last Name of Director/s, Performers (if appropriate), (Distributor, Date)  in name of database <URL> [accessed date]

First Footnote

 1905: Year of Light: Einstein's Important Discovery, dir. by Philippe Tournancheau (Filmakers Library, 2006) in Alexander Street Press <https://search-alexanderstreet-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/science/view/work/1784669> [accessed 10 May 2014]

Second and subsequent  footnotes

 1905: Year of Light: 
Bibliography

  1905: Year of Light: Einstein's Important Discovery, dir. by Philippe Tournancheau (Filmakers Library, 2006) in Alexander Street Press <https://search-alexanderstreet-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/science/view/work/1784669> [accessed 10 May 2014]