Skip to content

Citing and referencing: News Sources

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

News Sources

Note: Newspapers, news broadcasts and magazines are NOT acceptable academic sources unless as objects of research.

Newspaper Article, print

Required Information

Reporters first name and last name, 'Title of Article', Title of Publication, Date of issue, Section of publication (where relevant), page number/s.

Note: 'The' and 'A' is normally omitted from publication titles when citing English language newspapers, with the exception of The Times.

First Footnote

1 Ruth Liew, 'Insurance Ripe for Buyouts', Financial Review, 6 June 2014, Companies & Markets, p.17.

Subsequent  footnotes

2 Liew, 'Insurance Ripe for Buyouts', p.17.

Note: Only use the shortened version of the title if more than one text by the same author has been referred to. 

Bibliography

Liew, Ruth, 'Insurance Ripe for Buyouts',  Financial Review, 6 June 2014, Companies & Markets, p.17

 

Newspaper Article, online

Required Information Reporters first and last lame, 'Title of the article', Title of publication, Date of issue <URL to article> [accessed date], (para x of x).
First Footnote

1 David M. Herszenhorn, 'Putin Warns Again of Force as Ukraine Fighting Spreads’, New York Times, 1 July 2014 <http://www.nytimes.com/2014/07/02/world/europe/ukraine.html> [accessed 2 July 2014], (para 21 of 26).

Subsequent  footnotes

2 Herszenhorn, (para 12).
Bibliography

 Herszenhorn, M. David, 'Putin Warns Again of Force as Ukraine Fighting Spreads’, New York Times, 1 July 2014 <http://www.nytimes.com/2014/07/02/world/europe/ukraine.html> [accessed 2 July 2014]

 

Newspaper Article, database

Required Information Reporters first name and last name, 'Title of the article', Title of publication, Date of issue, in Name of database <article URL> [accessed date]
First Footnote

1 Lauren Wilson, ‘Boats are stopping, says minister, Australian, 4 January 2014, in NewsBank <http://docs.newsbank.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/openurl?ctx_ver=z39.88-2004&rft_id=info:sid/iw.newsbank.com:AWNB:AUSB&rft_val_format=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:ctx&rft_dat=14B25ACD087158B0&svc_dat=InfoWeb:aggregated5&req_dat=102D23E2B9847C9F> [accessed 23 April 2014] (para 1 of 3).

Subsequent  footnotes

2 Wilson, (para 2).
Bibliography

 Wilson, Lauren, ‘Boats are stopping, says minister, Australian, 4 January 2014, in NewsBank <http://docs.newsbank.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/openurl?ctx_ver=z39.88-2004&rft_id=info:sid/iw.newsbank.com:AWNB:AUSB&rft_val_format=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:ctx&rft_dat=14B25ACD087158B0&svc_dat=InfoWeb:aggregated5&req_dat=102D23E2B9847C9F> [accessed 23 April 201


News Broadcast Aired on Television

Required Information

'Program Title', Series Title , Network, Date Broadcast, Time Broadcast.

First Footnote

1 'Growing calls for a royal commission into the Commonwealth Bank fraud scandal', 7.30 Report,  Australian Broadcasting Company, 1 July 2014, 7.30pm.

Subsequent  footnotes

2 'Growing calls for a royal commission'.
Bibliography

'Growing calls for a royal commission into the Commonwealth Bank fraud scandal', 7.30 Report,  Australian Broadcasting Company, 1 July 2014, 7.30pm.

 

News Broadcast, online

Required Information 'Program Title', Series Title , Network, Date Broadcast, <URL of broadcast> [accessed date]
First Footnote

'Growing calls for a royal commission into the Commonwealth Bank fraud scandal', 7.30 Report, Australian Broadcasting Company, 1 July 2014 <http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2014/s4037177.htm>[accessed 2 July]

Subsequent  footnotes

'Growing calls for a royal commission'.
Bibliography

'Growing calls for a royal commission into the Commonwealth Bank fraud scandal', 7.30 Report, Australian Broadcasting Company, 1 July 2014  <http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2014/s4037177.htm>[accessed 2 July]

 

News Broadcast, database

Required Information

'Program Title', Series Title , Network, Date Broadcast, in Name of Database <URL of broadcast>
[accessed date]

First Footnote

'Democracy for sale: A premier's fall from grace',  Four Corners, Australian Broadcasting Company, 23 June 2014, in Informit TV News <http://search.informit.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/
documentSummary;
dn=TSM201406230011;res=TVNEWS> [accessed 02 Jul 14]

Subsequent  footnotes

'Democracy for sale'.
Bibliography

'Democracy for sale: A premier's fall from grace',  Four Corners, Australian Broadcasting Company, 23 June 2014, in Informit TV News <http://search.informit.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/
documentSummary;dn=TSM201406230011;res=TVNEWS
> [accessed 02 Jul 14]