Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Letter / Manuscript / Diary

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Letters, diaries and correspondence

Letter, Original

For an original letter found in an archive see Manuscript and other achival documents, original.
 

Letter, Online

Required Information

 Author's First and Last Name, 'Title of Letter' (if available) in Name of Website <URL> [accessed date]

 

First Footnote

1 Blanche of Castile, Queen of France, 'Letter to Blanche of Navarre, Countess of Champange, c 1212' in Epistolae: medieval woman's Latin letters <http://epistolae.ccnmtl.columbia.edu/woman/78.html>., [accessed 15 May 2014]

Second and subsequent  footnotes

 Blanche of Catille, ' Letter to Blanche of Navarre'.
Bibliography

Blanche of Castile, Queen of France, 'Letter to Blacnhe of Navarre, Countess of Champange, c 1212' in Epistolae: medieval woman's Latin letters <http://epistolae.ccnmtl.columbia.edu/woman/78.html>., [accessed 15 May 2014]

 

Letter, database

For a letter found in a database see Manuscript and other archival documents, database.
 

Manuscript and other archival documents, original

Required Information

City (where the archive is held), Holding institution, Collection name, Manuscript or Collection number, document number.

First Footnote

1 Melbourne, National Archives of Australia, Applications to enlist in the Australian Imperial Force, ser. MT1486/1, BRUSH / ROBERT SYDNEY

Second and subsequent  footnotes

2 Applications to enlist in the Australian Imperial Force, ser. MT1486/1, BRUSH / ROBERT SYDNEY
Bibliography

Melbourne, National Archives of Australia, Applications to enlist in the Australian Imperial Force, ser. MT1486/1, BRUSH / ROBERT SYDNEY


Manuscript and other archival documents, online

Required Information

 Holding institution, Collection name, Manuscript or Collection number, document number/ID. <URL> [accessed date]

First Footnote

National Archives of Australia, First Australian Imperial Force Personnel Dossiers 1914-1920, ser. B2455, AHERN E D. <http://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/scripts/Imagine.asp?B=3023028> [accessed 16 July 2014]

Second and subsequent footnotes

  2  First Australian Imperial Force Personnel Dossiers 1914-1920, ser. B2455, AHERN E D. 
Bibliography

 National Archives of Australia, First Australian Imperial Force Personnel Dossiers 1914-1920, ser. B2455, AHERN E D. <http://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/scripts/Imagine.asp?B=3023028> [accessed 16 July 2014]

 

Manuscript and other archival documents, database

Required Information

 Holding institution/original source, Collection name, Manuscript or Collection number (if available), document number/ID, in name of database <URL> [accessed date]

First Footnote

The Wiener Library London, Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950, HO 213/1627, in Archives Unbound <http://go.galegroup.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/gdsc/i.do?v=2.1&u=monash&it=aboutCollections&​p=GDSC&sw=w> [accessed 22 July 2014]

Second and subsequent  footnotes

The Wiener Library London, Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950, HO 213/1627.
Bibliography

The Wiener Library London, Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950, HO 213/1627, in Archives Unbound <http://go.galegroup.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/gdsc/i.do?v=2.1&u=monash&it=aboutCollections&​p=GDSC&sw=w> [accessed 22 July 2014]

 

Diary, original

For an original diary found in an archive see Manuscript and other archival documents, original.
For a published diary see Book: Print One author.
 

Diary, online

Required Information

 'Title of diary' [diary]  diary entry year and date range, page number/s in name of website <URL> [accessed date]

First Footnote

1 The Diary of Henry Machyn: Citizen and Merchant-Taylor of London (1550-1563)' [diary] 1553 Jul - Dec, p. 37 in British History Online <http://www.british-history.ac.uk/camden-record-soc/vol42/pp34-50> [22 July 2014].

Second and subsequent  footnotes

 The Diary of Henry Machyn', p.50.
Bibliography

'The Diary of Henry Machyn: Citizen and Merchant-Taylor of London (1550-1563)' [diary] 1553 Jul - Dec, p. 37 in British History Online <http://www.british-history.ac.uk/camden-record-soc/vol42/pp34-50> [22 July 2014].

 

Diary, database

For a diary found in a database see Manuscript and other archival documents, database.