Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Books

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Books: Print

One author

Required information Author's first name and last name, Title of Book: Subtitle of the book (Place of publication: publisher, year published), page number/s.
First footnote 

1 Guy Halsall,  Barbarian Migrations and the Roman West 376-568 (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008), p. 245.

Subsequent footnote 

2 Halsall, Barbarian Migrations. p.298.

Note: Only use the shortened version of the title if more than one text by the same author has been referred to. 

Bibliography

Halsall, Guy, Barbarian Migrations and the Roman West 376-568 (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008)


Organisation as author

Required information Group / Organisation / Corporation name, Title of Work: Subtitle of the Work, edition if not the first edition (Place of publication: publisher, year published), page numbers(s).
First footnote

1Modern Humanities Research Association, MHRA Style Guide, 3rd edn (London, Modern Humanities Research Association, 2013), p.36.

Subsequent footnote

2 Modern Humanities Research Association, p.46.

Bibliography Modern Humanities Research Association, MHRA Style Guide; 3rd (London, Modern Humanities Research Association, 2013)


Up to three authors

Required information

Author's first name and last name, (repeat up to three authors), Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book. (Place of publication: publisher, year published), page number/s.  

First footnote

1Tison Pugh, Angela Weisl, Julian Spears Medievalism: Making the past in the present (Abingdon: Routledge, 2012), p.13.

Subsequent footnote

2 Pugh, Weisl, Spears, p.14.

Bibliography 

Pugh, Tison, Angela Weisl, Julian Spears Medievalism: Making the past in the present (Abingdon: Routledge, 2012)

Note: Start the bibliography with the first author's surname. However, do not reverse the order for subsequent authors. Separate each author name with a comma.


Multiple authors (more than three)

Required information

First listed author's first name and last name, and others, Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book. (Place of publication: publisher, year published), page numbers/s.

First footnote

George Huppert and others, After the black death: a history of early modern Europe, 2nd edn. (London: Routledge, 1993), p.10

Subsequent footnote

Huppert and others, p.55. 

Bibliography 

Huppert, George and others, After the black death: a history of early modern Europe, 2nd edn. (London: Routledge, 1993), p.10


Translated book

Required information Author's first name and last name, Title of book: Subtitle of the Book, trans. by Translators first name and last name, (place of publications: publisher, year published), page number/s.
First footnote

Jean Starobinski, Montaigne in Motion, trans. by Arthur Goldhammer (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986), p.74

Subsequent footnotes 2 Starobinski, p.54.
Bibliography 

Starobinski, Jean, Montaigne in Motion, trans. by Arthur Goldhammer (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986)


Edited book

Required information Title of book: Subtitle of the Book, ed. by Editor's first name and last name (repeat up to three editor's, use 'and others' for more than 3 editors) (place of publications: publisher, year published), page number/s.
First footnote

1 The Medieval Church: Universities, Heresy and Religious Life, ed. by Hans Grundmann (Woodbridge: Boydell Press,1999), pp.356-364.

Subsequent footnote 2 The Medieval Church, p.360.
Bibliography 

The Medieval Church: Universities, Heresy and Religious Life, Hans Grundmann (Woodbridge: Boydell Press,1999)


Anonymous author

Required information Title of book: Subtitle of the Book, (place of publications: publisher, year published), page number(s).
First footnote

1 Annotated Book of Common Prayer: Being an Historical, Ritual and Theological Commentary on the Devotional System of The Church of England (London: Longmans, Green & Co., 1899), p.207.

Subsequent footnotes  2 Annotated Book of Common Prayer, p.123.
Bibliography  Annotated Book of Common Prayer: Being an Historical, Ritual and Theological Commentary on the Devotional System of The Church of England (London: Longmans, Green & Co., 1899), p.207.


Chapter in an edited book

Required information Author's first name and last name, 'Title of chapter', in Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book, ed. by Editors first name and last name, (place of publication: publisher, year published), page range of chapter, (page number cited).
First footnote

1 C.W. Hollister, ‘Documents of the Investiture Controversy, 1059-1122’, in Medieval Europe: A short sourcebook, ed. by Kate Nesbitt (New York: McGraw Hill, 1996), pp. 462-530 (p.473).

Subsequent footnotes  2 Hollister, p.469.
Bibliography 

C.W. Hollister, ‘Documents of the Investiture Controversy, 1059-1122’, in Medieval Europe: A short sourcebook, ed. by Kate Nesbitt (New York: McGraw Hill, 1996)


Sacred book: The bible

Required information

References should be in the following form: Isaiah 22. 17

Note: Titles of books from the bible are not italicized, Book numbers are given roman numerals, chapter and verse numbers in Arabic numerals separated by a period.

Note: An equivalent system can be used for the Qur‘an or Torah.

Books: Electronic

E-book

Required information Author's first name and last name, Title of Book: Subtitle of the book, (Place of publication: Publisher, year published)  page number, <URL>, [accessed date]
First footnote

1 Judith Herrin, Women in Purple: the surprising life of a medieval empire,(London: Pluto Press, 2000), pp. 234-253,  <http://www.theacademiclibrary.com/login_cat.asp?filename=0745315933>, [accessed 18 April  2014]

Subsequent footnotes

Herrin, Women in Purple, p.283.

Note: Only use the shortened version of the title if more than one text by the same author has been referred to. 

Bibliography 

Judith Herrin, Women in Purple: the surprising life of a medieval empire, (London: Pluto Press, 2000), p. 234-253,  <http://www.theacademiclibrary.com​/login_cat.asp?filename​=0745315933>, [accessed 18 April  2014]


Chapter in an edited e-book

Required information  Author's first name and last name, 'Title of chapter', in Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book, ed. by Editors first name and last name, (place of publication: publisher, year published), page number of chapter, (page number), <URL>, [accessed date]
First footnote

1 Christopher Rowland, 'The Literature of the Bible', in The Blackwell Companion to the Bible in English Literature, ed. by Rebecca Lemon and others, (Online: Blackwell, 2010) pp. 10-21, (p.12)<http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/book/10.1002/9781444324174>, [accessed 12 August 2014]

Subsequent footnote 2 Rowland, p.19.
Bibliography

Christopher Rowland, 'The Literature of the Bible', in The Blackwell Companion to the Bible in English Literature, ed. by Rebecca Lemon and others, (Online: Blackwell, 2010) pp. 10-21,<http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/book/10.1002/9781444324174>, [accessed 12 August 2014]


E-book in a series

Required information Author's first name and last name, (repeat up to three authors), Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book, Series title, Series number (Place of publication: publisher, year published), page number(s) <URL>, [accessed date] 
First footnote

1 Max Lieberman, The Medieval March of Wales : The Creation and Perception of a Frontier, 1066–1283, Cambridge Studies in    Medieval Life and Thought: Fourth Series, 78 (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2010), p.117 <http://monash.eblib.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/patron/FullRecord.aspx?p=502475>, [accessed 5 June 2014]

Subsequent Footnote

2 Lieberman, p.121.

Bibliography rule

Max Lieberman, The Medieval March of Wales : The Creation and Perception of a Frontier, 1066–1283, Cambridge Studies in    Medieval Life and Thought: Fourth Series, 78 (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2010), <http://monash.eblib.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/patron/FullRecord.aspx?p=502475> [accessed 5 June 2014]


E-book from a reader

Required information

Author's first name and last name, Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book, Edition/Type of e-reader (Place of publication: publisher, year published), page numbers(s).

First footnote

1 C. S. Lewis, The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature, Kindle Edition (Pymble, NSW: Harper Collins, 2013), p.49.

Note: Only use an authors initials if the author is predominately recognised by those initials.

Subsequent footnote

2 Lewis, p.98.

Bibliography rule

C. S. Lewis, The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature, Kindle Edition (Pymble, NSW:   Harper Collins, 2013)