Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Journals / Periodicals

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Journals / Periodicals: Print

Specific Rules for Journal Articles:

  • Year of publication should be contained in parentheses.
  • Page range of the article should not be preceded by 'pp'.
  • Page number of actual citation should be in parentheses and preceded with 'p' or 'pp'.
  • If a journal has restarted publication with a new numbering this should be indicated by the number of the series and the letters 'ser.' e.g. '5th ser.'. Use 'n.s.' to indicated the first of a new series.
  • Only include an issue number if pagination isn't continuous across volumes (if each issue starts at page 1).


One author

Required information

Author's first name and last name, 'Title of article', Title of Journal, series number (if available), volume number.issue number (if necessary) (year of publication), page range, page number referenced.

First footnote

1Nathalie Z. Davis, ‘Beyond the Market: Books as Gifts in Sixteenth Century France’, Transactions of the Royal Historical Society, 5th ser., 33 (1983) 69-88, (p.83).

Subsequent footnote Davis, (p.83).
Bibliography

Davis, Nathalie ‘Beyond the Market: Books as Gifts in Sixteenth Century France’, Transactions of the Royal Historical Society, 5th ser., 33 (1983) 69-88


Up to three authors

Required information Author's first name and last name, (repeat up to three author's first name and last name) 'Title of article', Title of Journal, series number (if available), volume number.issue number (if necessary) (year of publication), page range, page number referenced.
First footnote

Carsten S. Jensen, Kurt V. Jacobs, John H. Lind, 'Communicating Crusades and Crusading Communications in the Baltic Region' Scandinavian Economic History Review, 49.2 (2001), 5-245 (p.8).

Subsequent footnote Jensen, Jacobs, Lind, (p.12).
Bibliography 

Jensen, Carsten S, Kurt V Jacobs, John H. Lind, ‘Communicating Crusades and Crusading Communications in the Baltic Region’, Scandinavian Economic History Review, 49.2 (2001), 2-24

NOTE: Start the reference with the first author's surname. However do not reverse the order for subsequent authors. Separate each author name with a comma.


Multiple Authors (more than three)

Required information

First listed author's first name and last name, and others, 'Title of article',Title of Journal,series number (if available), volume number.issue number (if necessary) (year of publication), page range, page number referenced.

First footnote

Donald Queller and others ‘The Fourth Crusade: The Neglected Majority’, Speculum, 49.3 (1974), 441-465, (p.459).

Subsequent footnote Queller and others, (p.464).
Bibliography

Donald Queller and others ‘The Fourth Crusade: The Neglected Majority’, Speculum, 49.3 (1974), 441-465


No author (title in place of author)

Required information

'Title of article',Title of Journal,series number (if available), volume number.issue number (if necessary),(year of publication), page range, page number referenced.

First footnote

1' TE Cliffe Leslie on the celibacy of the nation', Population and Development Review, 37 (2011), 85-190, (p.91)

Subsequent footnote TE Cliffe Leslie on the celibacy of the nation, (p.162).
Bibliography

'TE Cliffe Leslie on the celibacy of the nation', Population and Development Review, 37 (2011),85-190

Journals / Periodicals: Electronic

Journal article from a database

Required information Author's first name and last name, 'Title of aticle', Title of Journal, series number (if available), volume number.issue number (if neccesary) (year of publication), page range, page number referenced 'in' database name <URL> [date accessed]
First footnote

Savvas Neocleous, ‘Byzantine-Muslim Conspiracies Against the Crusades: History and Myth’, Journal of Medieval History, 36 (2010), 253-274, (p.255) in Science Direct <http://www.sciencedirect.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au
/science/article/pii/S0304418110000230
> [accessed 16 April 2014]

Subsequent footnote

Neocleous, (p.263).

Bibliography 

Neocleous, Savvas, ‘Byzantine-Muslim Conspiracies Against the Crusades: History and Myth’, Journal of Medieval History, 36 (2010), 253-274 in Science Direct <http://www.sciencedirect.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au
/science/article/pii/S0304418110000230
> [accessed 16 April 2014]


Journal article from a website

Required information Author's first name and last name, 'Title of article', Title of Journal, series number (if available), volume number.issue number (if necessary) (year of publication), page range (if paginated), page number referenced, <URL> [date accessed] (location of passage if not paginated, e.g. para. 4).
First footnote

Steven Runciman, ‘The Decline of the Crusading Ideal’, The Sewanee Review, 79 (1974), 498-513, (p.500) <http://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/27542556>, [accessed 12 December 2014]

Subsequent footnote Runciman, (p.509).
Bibliography 

Runciman, Steve, ‘The Decline of the Crusading Ideal’, The Sewanee Review, 79 (1974), 498-513, <http://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/27542556>, [accessed 12 December 2014]


Journal article with a DOI

What is a DOI?

DOI numbers (Digital Object Identifiers) are unique number combinations assigned to an article. With the help of this DOI number the article can always be located. The publisher assigns a DOI when an article is published and made available electronically.

Required Information Author's first name and last name, 'Title of article', Title of Journal, series number (if available), volume number.issue number (if necessary) (year of publication), page range, page number referenced, <DOI>.
First footnote

Caroline Smith, ‘Martyrdom and Crusading in the Thirteenth Century: Remembering the Dead of Louis IX's Crusades’, Masaq: Journal of the Medieval Mediterranean,15 (2003),189-196, (p.194) <DOI:10.1080/0950311032000117485>.

Subsequent footnote  Smith, (p.190). 
Bibliography rule

Smith, Caroline, ‘Martyrdom and Crusading in the Thirteenth Century: Remembering the Dead of Louis IX's Crusades’, Masaq: Journal of the Medieval Mediterranean,15 (2003),189-196 <DOI:10.1080/0950311032000117485>.