Citing and referencing: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Guides

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Reference works (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Guides)

Notes:

  • Follow these examples closely for all layout, punctuation, spacing and capitalization.
  • For a print copy indicate edition and number of volumes (if multi-volumes).
  • Do not indicate edition if it is the first.
  • For articles without author begin the reference with the title of the article.
  • IF a DOI is available, add it at the end of the reference.
  • Put pagination and volume number in brackets.

 

Entire reference work (print)

Format with editor or author

 

Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (year of publication). Title of work (xx ed.). Location of publication: Publisher.

Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (year of publication). Title of work (xx ed.). Location of publication: Publisher.

Format with no author or editor Title of work. (year of publication). (xx ed.)  Location of publication: Publisher.
Reference List

Martin, E. A. (Ed.). (2007). Concise colour medical dictionary (4th ed.). Oxford, England: Oxford University Press.

Merriam-Webster's medical desk dictionary. (2005). (Rev. ed.). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster.

 

Entire reference work (online)

Format with DOI

Format without DOI

Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (year of publication). Title of work (xx ed.). doi: DOI

Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (year of publication). Title of work (xx ed.). doi: DOI

Format with no author or editor Title of work (year opublication). (xx ed.)  Retrieved from URL
Reference List

Martin, E. A. (Ed.). (2015). Concise colour medical dictionary (9th ed.). doi: 10.1093/acref/9780199687817.001.0001

Merriam-Webster's online dictionary. (2018). Retrieved from http://www.m-w.com/dictionary

 

Chapter in a book or entry in a reference work (print)

Format

Author, A. A. (year of publication). Title of chapter or entry. In A. A. Editor (Ed.), Title of work (Vol. xx, pp.xxx-xxx). Location of publication: Publisher.

NOTE: For the reference work containing the chapter or entry being referenced, the author or editor's initials should precede the family name(s).

Format with no author or editor


Title of entry. (year of publication). In Title of reference work (pp. xxx-xxx). Location: Publisher.

 

Reference List

Dalleck, L. C. (2012). Balance training. In J. L. Longe (Ed.). The Gale encyclopedia of fitness (Vol. I, pp. 59–62). Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, Cengage Learning.

Fire. (1981). In Penguin-Hellenews English-Greek dictionary (pp. 313). Athens, Greece: Hellenews-Paidia.

 

Chapter in a book or entry in a reference work (online)

Format with DOI

Article name. (year of publication). In Title of work.  doi: DOI

Article name. (year of publication). In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of work. doi: DOI

Format without DOI

Article name. (year of publication). In Title of work.  Retrieved from URL

Article name. (year of publication). In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of work. Retrieved from URL

Reference List

Gestational diabetes mellitus. (2012). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved from http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/232126/gestational-diabetes-mellitus

Fibromyalgia. (2015). In E. A. Martin (Ed.), Concise medical dictionary (9th ed.). doi: 10.1093/acref/9780199687817.001.0001

 

Several volumes in a multivolume work

Format

Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (year of publication). Title of work (xx ed., Vols. xx-xx). Location of publication: Publisher.

NOTE: Use (xxxx-xxxx). as the format for a range of years of publication

Reference List 

Olendorf, D., Jeryan, C., & Boyden, K. (Eds.). (1999). The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (Vols. 1–5). Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Research.

 

Entry in a drug guide (print)

Format

Article name. (year of publication). In Title of work (xx ed.). (pp.). Location of publication: Publisher.

Reference List 

Perindopril. (2018). In Australian medicines handbook (pp. 263-264). Adelaide, SA: Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd. 

 

Entry in a drug guide (online)

Format

Author, A. A. (year of publication). Article name. In A. A. Editor (Ed.), Title of work (Vol.xx). doi: DOI

Format with no author or editor Article name. (Publication date). In Title of work (xx ed.). Retrieved from URL
Reference List

Jenkins, A. J., & Valentine, J. L. (2012). Antimicrobial drugs. In A. Mozayani & L. Raymon (Eds.), Handbook of drug interactions: A clinical and forensic guide. doi: 10.1007/978-1-61779-222-9_10

Lanoxin. (2019). In MIMS online. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login?url=http://www.mimsonline.com.au/

 

Entry in evidence summary

Format

Author, A. A. (year of publication). Article name. In Title of work. Retrieved from URL

Format with no author or editor Article name. (Publication date). In Title of work. Retrieved from URL
Reference List

Diabetes mellitus type 1. (2019). In DynaMed Plus. Retrieved from http://www.dynamed.com/topics/dmp~AN~T116244

Hueston, W.J. (2018). Acute bronchitis. In BMJ Best Practice. Retrieved from https://bestpractice-bmj-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/topics/en-gb/135

Egan, B. M. (2017). Patient adherence and the treatment of hypertension. In UpToDate. Retrieved from https://www-uptodate-com.ezproxy-trials.lib.monash.edu.au/