Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Government sources

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Further examples - Parliamentary documents

1.       Australian Parliamentary sources  including debates, reports, submissions , evidence,  research papers and briefs

2.       Australian Law and Legislative material-Law : citing and referencing

3. Citing US, Canadian UK and International  government documents

Government Sources

Government document with no obvious personal author

Rules for Notes

Note Number. Name of Group/Organisation, Title of Work (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

 

Example of Note entry

 

1. Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Young Homeless People in Australia 2001-02 (Canberra, 2003), 20.

 

Subsequent Note entry

 

4. AIHW, Young Homeless People, 33.

A cross reference for the abbreviated name may be required in the bibliography (see below)

 

Rule for Bibliography      

 

Name of Group/Organization. Title of Work. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

 

Example of bibliography entry

 

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Young Homeless People in Australia 2001-02. Canberra, 2003.

Cross reference:

AIHW. See Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.

 

Government document with personal author/s acknowledged on the title page

Rule for Notes

Note number. Author's first name and last name, subsequent authors' first and last names. Title of Work, type of publication prepared for Government Agency's name, (place of publication: publisher's name, publication date) page number(s).

Example of Note entry

6. Denis Goodrum, Mark Hackling and Leonie Rennie, The Status and Quality of Teaching and Learning of Science in Australian Schools, research report prepared for the Department of Education, Training and Youth Affairs, (Canberra, c2001) 5.

Subsequent Note entry

9. Goodrum, Hackling and Rennie,  Status and Quality of Teaching, 10.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's last name, first name, subsequent austhors' first and last names. Title of Work, type of publication prepared for Government Agency's name. Place of publication: publisher's name, publication date.

Example of Bibliography entry

Goodrum, Denis, Mark Hackling and Leonie Rennie. The Status and Quality of Teaching and Learning of Science in Australian Schools. Research report prepared for the Department of Education, Training and Youth Affairs. Canberra, c2001.

 

 

International treaties/conventions

Rules for Notes

Note Number. Title of Treaty/Convention, Date opened for signature, Volume Treaty Series, Date entered into force.

 

Example of Note entry

 

1. Geneva Convention Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War,

Oct.21,1950,75 UNTS.972.

 

Subsequent Note entry

 

Use full form

 4. Geneva Convention Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War,

Oct.21,1950, 75 UNTS. 972.

 

Rule for Bibliography      

 

Title of Treaty/Convention, Date opened for signature, Volume  Treaty Series, Date entered into force. 

 

Example of bibliography entry

 

Geneva Convention Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War,

Oct.21,1950,75 UNTS.972.

 

Online Government document 

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Name of Group/Organisation, Title of Work (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s). URL or DOI.

Example of Note entry

1. Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources, Working with Indigenous Communities: Leading Practice Sustainable Development Program for the Mining Industry (Australian Government, 2008), 56. http://www.ret.gov.au/resources/Documents/LPSDP/LPSDP-IndigenousCommunitiesHandbook.pdf.

Subsequent Note entry

6. Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources. Working with Indigenous Communities, 68.

Rule for Bibliography

Name of Group/Organization. Title of Work. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name. Date of Publication. URL or DOI.

Example of Bibliography entry

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources. Working with Indigenous Communities: Leading Practice Sustainable Development Program for the Mining Industry. Australian Government. October 2007. http://www.ret.gov.au/resources/Documents/LPSDP/LPSDP-IndigenousCommunitiesHandbook.pdf.

 

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Name of Group/Organisation, Title of Work, Catalogue number, Place of Publication, Date of Publication, page number(s), URL or DOI.

Example of Note entry

1. Australian Bureau of Statistics, Australian Social Trends, December 2012, Cat. no. 4102.0, Canberra, 2012, 5, http://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/.

Subsequent Note entry

3. ABS, Social Trends, 13.

A cross reference for the abbreviated name may be required in the bibliography (see below)

Rule for Bibliography

Name of organisation. Title of Work. Catalogue Number. Place of publication. Date of publication. URL or DOI.

Example of Bibliography entry

Australian Bureau of Statistics. Australian Social Trends, December 2012. Cat. no. 4102.0. Canberra, 2012. http://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/.

Cross reference:

ABS see Australian Bureau of Statistics.