Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Books

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Books

 

Single author

Rule for Notes

Note number. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, Edition Number ed. (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), xx-xx.

Examples of Notes

1. Anne Higonnet, Pictures of Innocence: The History and Crisis of Ideal Childhood (London: Thames and Hudson, 1998), 109.

2. Sylvan Barnet, A Short Guide to Writing About Art, 8th ed. (New York: Pearson Longman, 2005), 130-132.  

Consecutive and subsequent Notes

1. Anne Higonnet, Pictures of Innocence: The History and Crisis of Ideal Childhood (London: Thames and Hudson, 1998), 109.

2. Sylvan Barnet, A Short Guide to Writing About Art, 8th ed. (New York: Pearson Longman, 2005), 130-132.

3. Ibid.

4. Ibid., 134.

5. Higonnet, 110.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Examples of entries in Bibliography 

Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing About Art. 8th ed. New York: Pearson Longman, 2005.

Higgonet, Anne. Pictures of Innocence: The History and Crisis of Ideal Childhood. London: Thames and Hudson, 1998.


Multiple authors

Rules for Notes

Two authors:

Note Number. Author #1's First and Last Names and Author #2's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), xx-xx.

Three authors:

Note Number. Author #1's First and Last Names, Author #2's First and Last Names, and Author #3's First and Last Names, Title of Book ...

Four or more authors:

Note Number. Author #1's First and Last Names et al., Title of Book ...

Examples of Notes

1. Tom Fraser and Adam Banks, The Complete Guide to Colour (East Sussex: Ilex, 2004), 90.

2. Eric Venbrux, Pamela Sheffield Rosi, and Robert L. Welsch, Exploring World Art (Long Grove, IL: Waveland Press Inc., 2006), 88.

3. Beth Hinderliter et al., Communities of Sense:Rethinking Aesthetics and Politics (Durham and London: Duke University Press, 2009).

Rules for Bibliography

Two authors:

Author #1's Last Name, Author #1's First Name, and Author #2's First and Last Names. Title of the Book: Sub-Title of the Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of publication.

Three authors:

Author #1's Last Name, Author #1's First Name, Author #2's First and Last Names, and Author #3's First and Last Names. Title of the Book ...

Four or more authors:

Name all authors as in previous example.

Examples of entries in Bibliography

Two authors:

Fraser, Tom, and Adam Banks. The Complete Guide to Colour. East Sussex: Ilex, 2004.

Three authors:

Venbrux, Eric, Pamela Sheffield Rosi, and Robert L. Welsch. Exploring World Art. Long Grove, IL: Waveland Press Inc., 2006.

Four or more authors:

Hinderliter, Beth, William Kaizen, Vered Maimon, Jaleh Mansoor, and Seth McCormick. Communities of Sense:Rethinking Aesthetics and Politics. Durham and London: Duke University Press, 2009.


Edited book

Rule for Notes

For a book with an editor instead of an author, adapt the pattern as follows:

Note Number. Editor's First and Last Names, ed., Title of Book ...

Examples of Notes

1. Christopher Kul-Want, ed., Philosophers on Art From Kant to the Postmodernists: A Critical Reader (New York: Columbia University Press, 2010), 2.

2. Shu Hung and Joseph Magliaro, eds., By Hand: The Use of Craft in Contemporary Art (New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2007), 22-24.

Rule for Bibliography

Editor's Last Name, Editor's First Name, ed. Title of Book ...

Examples of entries in Bibliography

Kul-Want, Christopher, ed. Philosophers on Art From Kant to the Postmodernists: A Critical
Reader.
New York: Columbia University Press, 2010.

Hung, Shu and Joseph Magliaro, eds. By Hand: The Use of Craft in Contemporary Art. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2007.


Chapter in an edited book

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Chapter Author's First and Last Names, "Title of Chapter: Sub-title of Chapter," in Title of Book: Sub-title of Book, ed. Editor's First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), xx-xx.

Example of Notes

1. Serge Guilbaut, "Disdain for the Stain: Abstract Expressionism and Tachisme," in Abstract Expressionism: The International Context, ed. Joan Marter (New Brunswick: Rutgers University Press, 2007), 29-50.

Rule for Bibliography

Chapter Author's Last Name, Chapter Author's First Name. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book: Sub-title of Book, edited by Editor's First and Last Names, xx-xx. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Entry in Bibliography

Guilbaut, Serge. "Disdain for the Stain: Abstract Expressionism and Tachisme." In Abstract Expressionism: The International Context, edited by Joan Marter, 29-50. New Brunswick: Rutgers University Press, 2007.


Exhibition catalogue

Rule for Notes

Cite an art exhibition catalogue as you would a book. In the bibliography, include the name, location and date of the exhibition, following the publication data.

The author may be the name of a gallery rather than an individual.

Examples of Notes

1. Caroline Mathieu, Monique Nonne and Ted Gott, The Impressionists: Masterpieces from the Musee D'Orsay (Melbourne: National Gallery of Victoria, 2004), 25.

2. Biennale of Sydney (10th:1996), Jurassic Technologies Revenant: An International Exhibition of Contemporary Art (Sydney: The Biennale, 1996).

Rule for Bibliography

Cite as a book. In the Bibiliography entry only, include the name and location (s) of the exhibition following the publication data.

Examples of entries in Bibliography

Biennale of Sydney (10th: 1996). Jurassic Technologies Revenant: An International Exhibition of Contemporary Art. Sydney: The Biennale, 2006. Program of events held at the Art Gallery of New South Wales, Artspace and Ivan Dougherty Gallery 27 July to 22 September 1996.

 Mathieu, Caroline, Monique Nonne, and Ted Gott. The Impressionists: Masterpieces from the Musee D'Orsay. Melbourne: National Gallery of Victoria, 2004. Published in conjunction with the exhibition "The Impressionists: Masterpieces from the Musee D'Orsay" shown at the National Gallery of Victoria in Melbourne, Victoria 17 June to 26 September 2004.


E-book (electronic)

Rules

Books consulted online are cited in the same manner as the print version, with the additional elements of the database or website from where it was retrieved and the date you accessed the material.

Books downloaded from a bookseller or library are cited in the same manner as the print version with the additional element of the format.

If page numbers are not available, identify the location of a cited passage in a Note by adding a descriptive locator eg a preceding subheading.

Example of Notes

1. Jennifer Craik, The Face of Fashion: Cultural Studies in Fashion (London: Routledge, 1993), http://books.google.com.au/​books?id=8m2FwzNSUl8C&​printsec=frontcover&​source=gbs_ge_summary_r&​cad=0#v=onepage&q&f=false (accessed January 20, 2013).

2. Jennifer Craik, The Face of Fashion: Cultural Studies in Fashion (London: Routledge 1994), eBook Collection (EBSCOHOST).

Example of Bibliography

Craik, Jennifer. The Face of Fashion: Cultural Studies in Fashion. London: Routledge, 1993. http://books.google.com.au/​books?id=8m2FwzNSUl8C&printsec​=frontcover&​source=gbs_ge_summary_r&​cad=0#v=onepage&q&f=false (accessed January 20, 2013).

Craik, Jennifer. The Face of Fashion: Cultural Studies in Fashion. London: Routledge, 1994. eBook Collection (EBSCOHOST).


Single author or Editor
Rule for Reference List

Author

Author's last Name, Author's First Name. Date of Publication. Title of book: Subtitle of book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.

Editor

   Editor's last Name, Editor's First Name, ed. Date of Publication. Title of book: Subtitle of book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.

Examples of Reference List

Author

Higonnet, Anne. 1998. Pictures of innocence: The history and crisis of ideal childhood. London: Thames    and Hudson.

With edition number

Barnet, Sylvan. 2000. A short guide to writing about art. 6th ed. New York: Longman.

Editor

Hall, Rodney, ed. 1987. Michael Dransfield: Collected poems. St. Lucia, Qld: University of Queensland Press.

Rule for Parenthetical citations (In text)

Author

(Author's Last Name Date of Publication, XX-XX)

Editor

(Editor's Last Name Date of Publication, XX-XX)

Example for Parenthetical citations (In text)

    Author

   (Higonnet 1998, 109-111)

    Editor

   (Hall 1987, 115-120)


Multiple authors
Rules for Reference List

   Two authors:

Author #1's Last Name, Author #1's First Name, and Author #2's First and Last Names. Date of Publication. Title of book: Subtitle of book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.

    Three or more authors:
Note: the parethetical (In Text) citations differ for 4 or more Authors-see below for details.

Author #1's Last Name, Author #1's First Name, Author #2's First and Last Names, and Author #3's First and Last Names. Date of Publication. Title of book: Subtitle of book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name. 

Examples of Reference List

Two Authors

Fraser, Tom, and Adam Banks. 2004. The complete guide to colour: The ultimate book for the colour conscious. Lewes: Ilex.

Three or more Authors

Venbrux, Eric, Pamela S. Rosi, and Robert L. Welsch. 2006. Exploring world art. Long Grove, Ill: Waveland Press.

Rule for Parenthetical citations (In text)

   Two authors:

(Author #1's Last Name and Author #2's Last Name Date of publication, XX-XX)

   Three authors:

(Author #1's Last Name, Author #2's Last Name and Author #3's Last Name Date of publication, XX-XX)

   Four or more authors:

(Author #1's Last Name et al. Date of Publication, XX-XX)

Examples of Parenthetical citations (In text)

   Two authors:

   (Fraser and Banks 2004, 245-246)

   Three authors:

   (Venbrux, Rosi, and Welsch 2006, 101-102)

   Four or more authors:

   (Hinderliter et al. 2009, 2-4)


Chapter in an Edited Book
Rule for Reference List Chapter Author's Last Name, Chapter Author's First Name. Date of Publication. Title of chapter: Subtitle of chapter. In Title of book: Subtitle of book, ed. Editor's First and Last Names, YY-YY. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.
Examples of Reference List Guilbaut, Serge. 2007. Disdain for the stain: Abstract expressionism and tachisme. In Abstract expressionism: The international Context, ed. Joan Marter, 29-50. New Brunswick: Rutgers University Press, 2007.
Rule for Parenthetical citation (In Text) (Chapter Author's Last Name Date of Publication, XX-XX)
Example for Parenthetical citations (In text) (Serge 2007, 30-35)

E-Book (Electronic)
Rule for Reference List

Online books are cited in the same manner as the print version, with the additional elements of the database or website from where it was retrieved and the date you accessed the material.

Books downloaded from a bookseller or library are cited in the same manner as the print version with the additional element of the format (CD-ROM, Microsoft Reader e-book).

If page numbers are not available, identify the location of a cited passage in a Note by adding a descriptive locator eg a preceding subheading.

Examples of Reference List

Craik, Jennifer. 1993. The face of fashion: Cultural studies in fashion. London: Routledge. http://books.google.com.au/​books?id=8m2FwzNSUl8C&​printsec=frontcover&​source=gbs_ge_summary_r&​cad=0#v=onepage&q&f=false (accessed January 20, 2013)

Craik, Jennifer. 1994. The face of fashion: Cultural studies in fashion. London: Routledge. eBook Collection (EBSCOHOST).

Rule for Parenthetical citation (In Text) (Chapter Author's Last Name Date of Publication, XX-XX)
Example for Parenthetical citations (In text)

(Craik 1993, 56-59)

Note: If page numbers are not available identify the location of a passage that was used (such as preceding a subheading) following the word under.

Example:
(Craik 1993, under "Instructing Feminity")