Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Magazines / Newspapers

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Magazines / Newspapers

 

Print magazines

Rule for Notes

Follow guidelines for citing journal articles with the following exceptions:

  • cite weekly or monthly magazines by date only, even if they are numbered by volume and issue.
  • do not enclose the date in parantheses.
  • use a comma rather than a colon to separate page numbers from the date.
  • titles of regular coulmns in a magazine are capitalized but not put in quotation marks.

Note number. Author's First and Last Names, "Title of Article," Regular Column, Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, xx-xx.

Examples of Note

1. Charlotte Sinclair, "Corn Star," Vogue Goes Pop, Vogue, December 2012, 99-100.

Rule for Bibliography

Authors' Last and First Names. "Title of Article." Regular Column. Title of Magazine, Date. No page numbers.

Examples of entry in Bibliography

Sinclair, Charlotte. "Corn Star." Vogue, December 2012.


Online magazines

Rule for Notes

Follow the guidelines for articles in print magazines. In addition, include the date you accessed the material and the URL. Articles in online magazines may not include page numbers, but you may identify the location of a cited passage by adding a descriptive locator (such as a preceding subheading) following the word under before the access date and URL.

Titles of regular coulmns in a magazine are capitalized but not put in quotation marks.

Examples of Note

1. Flanagan, Richard, "Tasmanian Devil: A Master Gambler and His High Stakes Museum," Profiles, New Yorker, January 21, 2013, accessed February 14, 2013http://www.newyorker​.com/​magazine/2013/01/21/​​tasmanian-devil.

Examples of entry in Bibliography

Richard Flanagan. "Tasmanian Devil: A Master Gambler and His High Stakes Museum." Profiles, New Yorker, January 21, 2013. Accessed February 14, 2013. http://www.newyorker​.com/magazine/2013/01/21/​​tasmanian-devil.


Print newspaper

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Authors's First and Last Names, "Title of Article," Title of Column, Title of Newspaper, Date.

  • Omit page numbers as newspapers may have several editions in which items may appear on different pages.
  • If it's a regular column add the column title after the article title, capitalized but not in quotation marks.
Examples of Note

1. Robert Nelson, "Tradition Trumps Globalised Culture," The Arts - Visual Arts, The Age, Wednesday January 23, 2013.

Rule for Bibliography

Do not cite in Bibliography unless a specific article is critical to your argument or frequently cited.


Online newspaper

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Authors's First and Last Names, "Title of Article," Title of Column, Title of Newspaper, Date, access date, URL.

Examples of Note

1. Taken from theage.com

Robert Nelson, "Tradition Trumps Globalised Culture," Entertainment, The Age, Wednesday January 23, 2013, accessed January 24, 2013, http://www.theage.com.au/​entertainment/art-and-design/​tradition-trumps-globalised-culture​-20130122-2d520.html.

2. Taken from Newsbank Database

Robert Nelson, "Tradition Trumps Globalised Culture," Visual Arts, The Age, Wednesday January 23, 2013, accessed January 24, 2013,
http://infoweb.newsbank.com​​.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/iw-search/we/InfoWeb​?​p_product=AUNB&p_theme=​aggregated5&p_action=doc&​p_docid=​143FA90ECA2E8D58&​​p_docnum=1&p_queryname=1.

Rule for Bibliography

Do not cite in Bibliography unless a specific article is critical to your argument or frequently cited.

 

Print magazines

Rule for Reference List

Follow guidelines for citing journal articles with the following exceptions:

  • cite weekly or monthly magazines by date only, even if they are numbered by volume and issue.
  • put article titles in roman type without quotationss
  • capitalize sentence style
  • do not enclose the date in parantheses.
  • use a comma rather than a colon to separate page numbers from the date.
  • titles of regular coulmns in a magazine are capitalized but not put in quotation marks.

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of publication. Title of Article. Title of Magazine, Date of Publication.

Example for Reference List

Sinclair, Charlotte. 2012. Corn star. Vogue, December 27.

Rule for Parenthetical (In Text)

In text citations follow the same format as Journals

(Authors' Last Name Year of publication, XX-XX)

Examples of Parenthetical (In Text)

(Sinclair 2012, 16-18)


Online magazines

Rule for Reference List

Follow the guidelines for articles in print magazines. In addition, include the date you accessed the material and the URL. Articles in online magazines may not include page numbers, but you may identify the location of a cited passage by adding a descriptive locator (such as a preceding subheading) following the word under before the access date and URL.

Examples of Reference List

Flanagan, Richard. 2013. Tasmanian devil: A master gambler and his high stakes museum. New Yorker, January 21. Accessed February 14, 2013. http://www.newyorker.com/​magazine/2013/01/21/tasmanian-devil.

Rule for Parenthetical (In Text)

Online articles may not have page numbers but you can use a descriptive statement to identify the location of a passege preceeding the word under.

 

Example for Parenthetical (In Text)

(Flanagan 2013, under "In the house")


Print newspaper

Rule for Reference List

In a reference list cite newspapers generaly as you would magazines.

Examples of Reference List

Nelson, Robert. 2013. Tradition trumps globalised culture. The Age. January 23.

Rule for Parenthetical (In Text)

Omit page numbers when citing in text.

Example for Parenthetical (In Text)

(Nelson 2013)


Online newspaper

Rule for Reference List

For online newspapers follow the guidelines for print newspapers but include the date you accessed the material and the URL. 

Examples of Reference List

Nelson, Robert. 2013.  Tradition trumps globalised culture. The Age. January 23. 2013. Accessed January 24, 2013. http://www.theage.com.au/​​entertainment/art-and-​design/tradition-trumps-globalised-​culture-20130122-2d520.html.

Rule for Parenthetical (In Text)

For online newspapers follow the guidelines for print newspapers.