Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Encyclopedias

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Encyclopedias

Entry in an encyclopedia (author's name provided)

Format Last name, First name. "Article title." Title of work, edition, volume number if applicable, year of publication, URL or DOI.
Example

Klein, Peter. "Epistemology." Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 1998, doi:10.4324/9780415249126-P059-1.

Explanation

It is not necessary to include the publisher information when citing reference works.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry in an edited print encyclopedia (author's name provided)

Format Last name, First name. "Article title." Title of work, edited by Editor's First name Last name, edition, volume number, Publisher, year of publication.
Example

Kaemmer, John E. "Music of the Shona of Zimbabwe." Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, edited by Ruth M. Stone, vol. 1, Routledge, 1997.

Explanation

The "author" is the author of the article itself.

Use the page range of entry if available.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry in an edited online encyclopedia (author's name provided)

Format Last name, First name. "Article title." Title of work, edited by Editor's First name Last name, edition, volume number, Publisher, year of publication, URL or DOI.
Example

Brabon, Benjamin A. and Stephanie Genz. "Postfeminist Gothic." Encyclopedia of the Gothic, edited by William Hughes et al., Blackwell Publishing, 2013, www.literatureencyclopedia.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/subscriber/tocnode.html?id=g9781405182904_chunk_g978140518290418_ss1-9.

Explanation

The "author" is the author of the article itself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Encyclopedia (whole work)

Format Last name, First name. Title of work. Edition, Publisher, Year of Publication. Number of volumes.
Example

Terrace, Vincent. Encyclopedia of Television Shows 1925 through 2010. 2nd ed., McFarland, 20113 vols.

Explanation

Only use the format above if you are citing the encyclopedia as a whole. In this case, the name of the publisher is required.

If the encyclopedia has more than one volume, add the total number of volumes at the end of the reference.

The example above is for the second edition of the encyclopedia. This information is only required if it is a second or later edition.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dictionary definitions

(i) Definition in a widely used reference book

Format "Word defined." Title of work. Edition. Year of Publication.
Example

"Epilogue." Australian Concise Oxford Dictionary. 4th ed., 2008.

“Soliloquy.” Macquarie Dictionary Online. 2016, www-macquariedictionary-com-au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/features/word/search/?word=soliloquy&search_word_type=Dictionary.

Explanation

For widely used reference books full publication details are not required. Give the edition, the year of publication, and the medium consulted.

If the dictionary entries are arranged alphabetically, then there is no need to include the page number of the definition.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(ii) Specific definition entry

Format "Word defined." Entry number. Title of work. Edition. Year of Publication, URL or DOI if applicable.
Example

"Pastoral." Entry 5. Macquarie Dictionary. 4th ed.  2005.

"Pastoral." Entry 5. Macquarie Dictionary Online. 2016, www-macquariedictionary-com-au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/features/word/search/?word=pastoral&search_word_type=Dictionary.

Explanation

Cite a specific entry (if there are multiple entries for the same word) by adding 'Entry' and the appropriate number.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(iii) Specialised reference work entry

Format

Last name, First name. "Term defined." Title of Work. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Example

Harbottle, Thomas Benfield. "Landrica." Dictionary of Historical Allusions. Swan Sonnenschein & Co, 1903.

Explanation

Specialised reference works require full publication information.

If the dictionary entries are arranged alphabetically, then there is no need to include the page number of the definition.