Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Guides

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Guides

Before using this guide check with your faculty, school or department for their specific referencing guidelines.

Notes:

Follow these examples closely for all layout, punctuation, spacing and capitalization.
Include the DOI at the end of the reference if it is available.

Dictionary entry

Format

Dictionary title, edition. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of entry; page number.

Reference

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 31st ed. Philadelphia: Saunders Elsevier; c2007. Encephalomalacia; p. 621.


Online dictionary entry

Format

Dictionary title [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of entry; [cited YYYY Mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL

Reference

Merriam-Webster medical dictionary [Internet]. Springfield (MA): Merriam-Webster Incorporated; c2005. Cloning; [cited 2006 Nov 16]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: http://www.merriam-webster.com/medical/cloning

Reference

OED Oxford English dictionary [Internet]. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2012 Sep. Osteomalacia [cited 2012 Nov 14]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: http://www.oed.com.ezproxy.lib​.monash.edu.au/​​view/Entry/​234078?redirectedFrom=osteomalacia


Encyclopedia article

Format

Author AA, Author BB. Encyclopedia title. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of article; page number.

Reference

Turkington C, Tzeel A. The encyclopedia of children's health and wellness. New York: Facts on File, Inc.; c2004. Papilloma virus, human (HPV); p. 381-3.


Electronic Encyclopedia article

Format

Title of encyclopedia [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of article; [updated YYYY Mon DD; cited YYYY Mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL

Reference

A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia [Internet]. Atlanta (GA): A.D.A.M., Inc.; c2005. Ear barotrauma; [updated 2006 Oct 20; cited 2006 Nov 16]; [about 4 screens]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus​/ency/article/001064.htm

Reference

Encyclopedia Britannica Online [Internet]. Academic ed. Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica Inc.; 2012. Cytology; [cited 2012 Nov 15]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: http://www.britannica.com/​EBchecked/topic/148932/cytology

Reference

(Citing the entire book/Source)

A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia [Internet]. Atlanta (GA): A.D.A.M., Inc.; c2015 [updated 2015 Jan 07; cited 2016 Jan 08]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html


Drug Guide entry

Format

Author AA, Author BB. Title. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of article; page number.

Reference

Hodgson BB, Kizior RJ. Saunders nursing drug handbook 2013. St Louis: Elsevier Saunders; 2013. Tramadol; p. 1169.

Reference Australian pharmaceutical formulary and handbook: the everyday guide to pharmacy practice. 23rd ed. Deakin West ACT: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia; 2015. Threadworm; p. 561-3


Electronic Drug Guide or guideline entry

Format

Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher/Website; year. Name of drug: [revision/review date; cited YYY Mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL

Reference

AHFS consumer medication Information [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Inc.; ©2008. Protriptyline; [revised 2007 Aug 1; reviewed 2007 Aug 1; cited 2008 Oct 2]; [about 5 p.]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov​/medlineplus/druginfo/meds/a604025.html

Reference

(Citing an entry without an author)

MIMS Online [Internet]. St Leonards (NSW): MIMS Australia Pty Ltd.; c2015. Aropax:  [data version 2016 Jan; cited 2016 Feb 15]; [about 1 screen]. Available from:

http://www.mimsonline.com.au/​Search/AbbrPI.aspx?ModuleName=Product%20Info&​searchKeyword=aropax&PreviousPage=​~/Search/QuickSearch.aspx&SearchType​=&ID=27600001_2

Reference

(Citing an entry without an author)

 

AusDi [Internet]. St Leonards (NSW): Health Communication Network Limited; c2016. Codeine Phosphate: [updated 2015 Dec 17; cited 2015 Dec22]; [about 4 screens]. Available from: http://ausdi.hcn.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/productInformation.hcn?file=p03213

Reference

(Citing an entry without an author)

AMH Australian medicines handbook [Internet]. Adelaide (SA): Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2015. Anxiety disorders; [updated 2015 July: cited 2016 Jan 04]; [1 screen]. Available from: https://amhonline.amh.net.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/chapters/chap-18/antidepressants/disorders-anxiety.t

Reference

(Citing an entry without an author)

eTG complete [Internet]. Melbourne (Vic): Therapeutic Guidelines Limited; 2015. Bipolar disorder: introduction; [updated 2013 Feb; cited 2015 Dec 16]; [1 screen]. Available from: http://etg.tg.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/conc/desktop/index.htm?id=27b1fc15b4331af2841f02ef96ddc67b

Reference

(Citing an entry with an author)

Gluckman S. Chronic fatigue syndrome. In: Merck manual [Internet]. Professional version Kenilworth (NJ): Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp; 2015.; [updated 2014 May; cited 2015 Dec 14]; [1 screen]. Available from: http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/special-subjects/chronic-fatigue-syndrome/chronic-fatigue-syndrome


Article from BMJ Best Practice

Format

Author, A. Title of article. Publication date of article. [revision or up-date date; cited date]. In: Title of database [Type of medium]. Place of publication: Name of Publisher. Date of Publication. [Extent of contribution]. Available from URL

Reference

Kenealy, T. Sore throat. 2014 Mar 4. [cited 2015 Aug 31]. In: Best Practice [Internet]. London: BMJ Publishing Group. c2015- . [about 5 screens]. Available from http://bestpractice.bmj.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/best-practice/evidence/intervention/1509/1/sr-1509-i6.html

 
Patrias K. Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers [Internet]. 2nd ed. Wendling DL, technical editor. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US); 2007 [updated 2009 Oct 21; cited 2012 Nov 6]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/citingmedicine