Citing and referencing: Drug information sources

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Drug information sources

Before using this guide check with your faculty, school or department for their specific referencing guidelines

Formularies (print)

Format

Author AA/Organisation. Title. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year of publication. Pagination.

Example 

Australian medicines handbook. Adelaide: Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2018. 1156 p.

Example 

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. Australian pharmaceutical formulary and handbook: the everyday guide to pharmacy practice. 24th ed. Canberra: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia; 2018. 682 p.

Joint Formulary Committee. British national formulary. 75th ed. London: BMJ Group; 2018. 1567 p.


Entry from formulary (print)

Format Author AA/Organisation. Title of book. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year of publication. Title of part; Location of part.
Example Australian medicines handbook. Adelaide: Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2018. Salbutamol; p. 890-1.
Example

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. Australian pharmaceutical formulary and handbook: the everyday guide to pharmacy practice. 24th ed. Canberra: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia; 2018. Nifedipine; p. 393.

Joint Formulary Committee. British national formulary. 75th ed. London: BMJ Group; 2018. Senna; p. 62-3.


Drug monographs (electronic)

Format Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher/Website; Year of publication/copyright. Name of drug; [revision/review date YYY Mon DD; cited YYYY Mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL
Example

Australian medicines handbook [Internet]. Adelaide: Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2018. Perindopril; [updated 2018 Jul; cited 2018 Oct 15]; [about 7 screens]. Available from: https://amhonline-amh-net-au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/chapters/cardiovascular-drugs/antihypertensives/ace-inhibitors/perindopril

Micromedex [Internet]. Chicago: Truven Health Analytics; c2018. Pregabalin; [updated 2018 Sep 17; cited 2018 Oct 15]; [about 50 pages]. Available from: https://www-micromedexsolutions-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/micromedex2/librarian/PFDefaultActionId/evidencexpert.DoIntegratedSearch?navitem=topHome&isToolPage=true#

MIMS online [Internet]. St Leonards: MIMS Australia Pty Ltd; 2018. Roaccutane; [updated 2018 Oct; cited 2018 Oct 15]; [about 7 pages]. Available from: https://www-mimsonline-com-au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/Search/ShowPDF.aspx?xmlDoc=01621.xml&XSLKey=PIxsl_pdf&PathKey=FullPIxmlPath

AusDi [Internet]. St. Leonards: Health Communication Network Limited; 2018. Codeine (Systemic); [revised 2018 Jan 8; cited 2018 Oct 15]; [about 11 screens]. Available from: https://ausdi.hcn.com.au/productMonograph.hcn?file=1211#d12400e3


Drug interaction (electronic)

Format

Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Year of publication. Names of drugs; [cited YYYY Mon DD]; [approx. # of pages/screens]. Available from: URL

Example

Micromedex: drug interactions [Internet]. Chicago: Truven Health Analytics; c2018. Acetaminophen - Warfarin; [cited 2018 Oct 26]; [about 6 screens]. Available from: https://www-micromedexsolutions-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/micromedex2/librarian/PFDefaultActionId/evidencexpert.ShowDrugInteractionsResults#

MIMS online drug interactions [Internet]. St Leonards: MIMS Australia Pty Ltd; 2018. Paracetamol, Warfarin sodium; [cited 2018 Oct 26]; [about 2 pages]. https://www-mimsonline-com-au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/Search/ShowPDF.aspx?xmlDoc=325_201_2.xml&XSLKey=DrugInteractionXSL&PathKey=DrugAlertsXMLPath


Package insert (Leaflet supplied by manufacturer)

Format

Name of medicine [package insert]. Place of publication: Manufacturer; Year of publication.

Example

Lamaxi [package insert]. East Hanover (NJ): Sandoz Pharmaceuticals; 1993


Complementary and alternative medicine (electronic)

Format

Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher/Website; Year of publication/copyright. Name of complementary medicine; [revision/review date YYY Mon DD; cited YYYY Mon DD]; [approx. # of pages/screens]. Available from: URL

Example

Natural medicines [Internet]. Somerville (MA): Therapeutic Research Center; c2018. Fish oil; [updated 2018 Sep 24; cited 2018 Oct 15]; [about 36 screens]. Available from: https://naturalmedicines-therapeuticresearch-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/databases/food,-herbs-supplements/professional.aspx?productid=993

Natural and alternative treatments [Internet]. Ipswich (MA): EBSCO Industries, Inc.; c2011. St. John's Wort; [revised 2012 Jul; cited 2018 Oct 15]; [about 14 screens]. Available from: http://therapy.epnet.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/nat/nat.asp

 

Patrias K. Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers [Internet]. 2nd ed. Wendling DL, technical editor. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US); 2007 [updated 2009 Oct 21; cited 2012 Nov 10]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/citingmedicine