Subject guides: Databases by Subject: Biotechnology

Other useful guides

Related sites

Key databases

Databases provide access to the contents of journal articles, conference papers, theses, patents and other information sources. They form the basis of, or add greater depth to your research. Most of databases provide links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

Databases allow keyword searching of article titles, abstracts, and subject headings / descriptors.

Biology, genetics, immunology and biomedical databases

Biological abstracts [via Web of science] This link opens in a new window
See: Web of science. Biological abstracts
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy. Developed in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world, it brings together millions of publications, grants, policy, data and metrics for the first time, enabling users to explore billions of connections between them. Data and expertise that span the research lifecycle from Digital Sciences companies ReadCube, Altmetric, Figshare, Symplectic, Digital Science Consultancy and berResearch make up Dimensions.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature, including behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection provides users with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Core collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present); Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present); Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present); Index Chemicus (1993-present)

Mechanical engineering databases

Compendex (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from 1000's of engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports. It is updated weekly. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Compendex combined with Ei Engineering Index Backfile provides coverage from 1884.
Engineering village (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, Inspec, Referex Engineering, GEOBASE and GeoRef. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world. Inspec includes access to the research intelligence tool, Inspec Analytics.

Business and economics databases

Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A definitive scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete offers indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, it also provides full text journals in all disciplines of business & economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
EP Patents (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
The patents databases on Engineering Village 2 include US and European patents grants and applications covering a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Currently, there are over 10 million patents that are being offered. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) offers access to its full text patent database. Full text patents are available from 1790 to date , and European patents from 1978 with weekly updates. Full text links will route you to the USPTO or European Patent Office web site where you can download images and view the full text of the patent selected.

Full-text journal collections

Full-text journal collections allow keyword searching of articles, abstracts, subject headings/descriptors, and the full-text of articles as well.

ACM digital library This link opens in a new window The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing the full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books, and a collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers. Also includes the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
ACS publications This link opens in a new window Provides access to the electronic full text versions of more than 75 journals published (or co-published) by the American Chemical Society.
Annual reviews This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews publishes authoritative reviews in 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
ASCE library : American Society of Civil Engineers research library This link opens in a new window The ASCE library is a comprehensive online database for locating items of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. Monash University Library subscribes to the ebook collection (all current year e-book titles, plus perpetual access to the complete list of more than 300 pre-2013 e-book titles), ejournal collection, proceedings and standards.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is Elsevier's premier full text platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. It comprises millions of journal articles (derived from over 2,650 peer-reviewed journal titles) and thousands of book titles, including the prestigious major reference works series. Twenty four major subject disciplines are covered, with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and to a lesser extent social sciences and the humanities. It also features ScienceDirect journal backfiles, which provide access to historical packages of journals published prior to 1995, and a growing library of open access literature.
Scitation This link opens in a new window Scitation is a leading online publishing platform for the American Institute of Physics (AIP), which hosts news, comment, analysis and research in the physical sciences. It contains over two million articles in fields that include physics, chemistry geosciences, engineering, acoustics and more, and provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the AIP, and its member societies. Scitation also hosts more than 30 scholarly publishers, and its wide variety of content includes hundreds of journals, thousands of conference proceedings, as well as ebooks, standards, patents, databases, and magazines.
SPIE digital library This link opens in a new window The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive resource for optics and photonics information, providing access to more than 500,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings, and nearly 400 eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers and 25 eBooks are added annually.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window SpringerLink is a portal to Springer publications. It provides researchers with ready access to a comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books, book series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer, and by associated imprints such as Palgrave. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary with an emphasis on the sciences, technology and biomedical literature.
Taylor & Francis online This link opens in a new window Portal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which provides access to thousands of e-books and journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science from well known publishers such as Routledge, CRC Press, Chapman and Hall, Ashgate, Psychology Press, Longman and Heinemann. Searches can be filtered to Library subscribed content only. The site also hosts a growing collection of Open Access content.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides access to journals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases from John Wiley & Sons and its imprints, including Wiley-Blackwell, Wiley-VCH, and Jossey-Bass. Specifically, it includes access to Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, (e.g. Cochrane Library, eEROS, and SpecInfo). Also to 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series, and to Wiley reference works.

Databases by Subject: Biotechnology

Contents