Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Theses/Dissertations

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Theses/Dissertations

Theses are treated as unpublished or informally published materials. Titles appear in quotation marks rather than in italics. Otherwise they are treated like books except that the kind of thesis, granting university and the date follow the title in parenthesis for notes. Parentheses are not used for this information in bibliography entries. If the document was accessed online, include the URL. If it was accessed from a commercial database, include the name of the database and any identifying number in parentheses.

Based upon Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition (Section 14.224).


Masters Thesis

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Title of Thesis" (thesis type, Granting University, Year) Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s), URL or database.

Example of Note entry

1. James Curnow, "Imagining the next disaster: the third wave of SF disaster cinema" (master's thesis, Monash University,  2010), 34.

Subsequent Note entry

5. Curnow, "Imagining the next disaster," 44.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. "Title of Thesis." Thesis type, Granting University, Date of Publication. URL or Database.

Example of Bibliography entry

Curnow, James. "Imagining the next disaster: the third wave of SF disaster cinema." Master's thesis, Monash University, 2010.

 

PhD Thesis accessed Online

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Title of Thesis" (thesis type, Granting University, Year) Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s), URL or database (with document reference number).

Example of Note entry

2. Shakela Carion Johnson, "An Examination of the Social Characteristics and Beliefs of Delinquent and Non-Delinquent Youth," (PhD thesis, Auburn University, 2007) 60-63, http://search.proquest.com/docview/304897390?accountid=12528.

Subsequent Note entry

7. Johnson, "An Examination of the Social Characteristics," 78.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. "Title of Thesis." Thesis type, Granting University, Date of Publication. URL or database (with document reference number).

Example of Bibliography entry

Johnson, Shakela Carion. "An Examination of the Social Characteristics and Beliefs of Delinquent and Non-Delinquent Youth." PhD thesis. Auburn University, 2007. http://search.proquest.com/docview/304897390?accountid=12528.