Skip to content

Citing and referencing: Personal Communication: Interview/Email

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Personal Communication

Unpublished interviews are cited in notes but are not listed in the bibliography.

Citations for interviews and other personal communication include:

  • Name of person interviewed
  • Name of interviewer
  • brief identifying information where appropriate
  • place and/or date of the interview
  • details of transcript location, where appropriate.

Published or broadcast interviews are cited the same as journal articles or book chapters.

Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition. (Section 14.218-221).

Interview/Email

Unpublished interview

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Interviewee's First and Last Names, interview by Interviewer's First and Last Names, (Location of interview, Date).

Example of Note entry

1. Erik Beyersdorf, Interview with Kurt Weil (Melbourne, October 21, 2012).

Subsequent Note entry

2. Beyersdorf, Interview.

Rule for Bibliography

Unpublished interviews are cited in notes but are not listed in the bibliography

Example of Bibliography entry

Unpublished interviews are cited in notes but are not listed in the bibliography

 

Interview (in an Archive)
Follow the rule for Manuscript

 

Interview Published (Journal Article)
Follow the rule for Journals/Periodicals

 

Interview Published (Online)

Rule for Notes

 Note Number. "Title of Interview," by Interviewers First Name Last Name, Publication Title/Website Title, Interview date, URL.

Example of Note entry

1. “Mil Máscaras: An Interview with Pulitzer-Winner Junot Díaz (The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao),” by Matt Okie, Identitytheory.com, September 2, 2008, http://www.identitytheory.com/interviews/okie_diaz.php.

Subsequent Note entry

2. Mil Máscaras".

Rule for Bibliography

"Title of Interview". By Interviewers First Name Last Name. Publication Title/Website Title. Interview date. URL.

Example of Bibliography entry

Mil Máscaras: An Interview with Pulitzer-Winner Junot Díaz (The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao),” By Matt Okie, Identitytheory.com. September 2, 2008. http://www.identitytheory.com/interviews/okie_diaz.php.

 

Interview Published (Radio or TV Program)
Note: Omit URL if not available online

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Interviewee First Name, Last Name, Interview by Interviewer First Name Last Name. Program Title. Network, Format, Interview Date, URL.

Example of Note entry

1. Claude Choules, interview by Geoff HutchinsonABC News Canberra ACT, ABC, Audio, March 3, 2011, http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-03-03/last-living-wwi-veterans-last-interview/2704724.

Subsequent Note entry

2. Choules.

Rule for Bibliography

Interviewee Last NameFirst Name. Interview with Interviewer First Name Last NameProgram TitleNetwork. Format, Interview Date, URL.

Example of Bibliography entry

 Choules, Claude. Interview by Geoff HutchinsonABC News Canberra ACT, ABC. Podcast. March 3, 2011. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-03-03/last-living-wwi-veterans-last-interview/2704724.

 

Email

Rule for Notes

Note number. First and Last Name, Email correspondence (date).

Example of Note entry

1. Karl Sanders, Email correspondence (October 22, 2012).

Subsequent Note entry

2. Sanders, Email.


Rule for Bibliography
Personal communication is not included in the bibliography.

Example of Bibliography entry
Personal communication is not included in the bibliography.