Skip to content

Citing and referencing: News Sources

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

Newspapers Specific Rules

Footnote Style Note

  • If there is no article title, give the article type (not in quotation marks). For example: Obituary, Editorial.
  • Omit 'The' from newspaper titles.A
  • Add a city name if the newspaper is not well known, e.g. Examiner (Launceston).
  • Page numbers are usually omitted.
  • Details of the edition can be added to a note or bibliographical entry. For example: final edition, Midwest edition.
  • If the paper is published in several sections, the section number or name may be given.
  • To cite an article consulted online, include the URL.

Bibliography Notes

  • Newspaper articles are more commonly cited in the running text rather than as a note.
  • A list of works cited need not list newpaper items if these have been documented in the text. For example no corresponding entry in a bibliography would be needed for the following citation (nor would it be necessary in such a case to include information about edition or, for an article consulted online, a URL). 

In an article discussing the end of Favre’s second-straight postretirement seasonthis time with the Minnesota VikingsPat Borzi reminds us that when it comes to the aging quarterback's uncertain prospects for yet another season, "there is final, and there is Favre" (New York Times, January 25, 2010).

If, for some reason, a bibliography entry were included, it would appear as follows:

Borzi, Pat. “Retirement Discussion Begins Anew for Favre.” New York Times, January 25, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/26/sports/football/26vikings.html?emc=eta1.

Source: Chicago Manual of Style online

News Sources

Newspaper article (Print)  

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Article Title." Publication Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Note entry

1. Alan Riding, "Selective French Homage To Jewish History; Scant Mention of Holocaust in a New Museum," New York Times, Dec 28, 1998.

Subsequent Note entry

3. Riding, "Selective French Homage,".

Rule for Bibliography

 Author's  Last Name then First name. "Article Title," Publication Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

Riding, Alan. "Selective French Homage To Jewish History; Scant Mention of Holocaust in a New Museum." New York Times, Dec 28, 1998.

 

Newspaper (Online or in a database)

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Article Title." Publication Name, Date of Publication, URL.

Example of Note entry

1. Troy Bramston, "Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns," The Australian, Sept  10, 2014, https://global-factiva-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/ha/default.aspx#./!?&_suid=1410313357198049120589159429073.

Subsequent Note entry

     3. Bramston, "Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns".

Rule for Bibliography 

 Author's  Last Name then First name. "Article Title," Publication Name, Date of Publication, URL.

Example of Bibliography entry

Bramston, Troy. "Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns." The Australian, Sept  10, 2014. https://global-factiva-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/ha/default.aspx#./!?&_suid=1410313357198049120589159429073.

 

News Broadcast (Aired on Television)

Rule for Notes

Note Number. 'News Item Title', Program Title, Network, Date Broadcast, type of broadcast.

Example of Note entry

1. 'Growing Calls for a Royal Commission into the Commonwealth Bank Fraud Scandal', 7.30 Report,  Australian Broadcasting Company, 1 July 2014, television broadcast.

Subsequent Note entry

    2. "Growing Calls for a Royal Commission."

Rule for Bibliography 

 'News Item Title'. Program Title. Network. Date Broadcast. Type of broadcast.

Example of Bibliography entry

'Growing Calls for a Royal Commission into the Commonwealth Bank Fraud Scandal'. 7.30 Report. Australian Broadcasting Company. July 1, 2014. Television broadcast.

 
News Broadcast (Online or in a database)

Rule for Notes

Note Number. 'News Item Title', Program Title, Network, Date Broadcast, type of broadcast, URL.

Example of Note entry

1. 'Democracy For Sale: A Premier's Fall From Grace', Four Corners, Australian Broadcasting Company, June 23, 2014, television broadcast, http://search.informit.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/documentSummary;dn=TSM201406230011;res=TVNEWS.

Subsequent Note entry

    2. "Democracy For Sale."

Rule for Bibliography 

'News Item Title', Program Title, Network, Date Broadcast, type of broadcast, URL.

Example of Bibliography entry

'Democracy For Sale: A Premier's Fall From Grace'. Four Corners. Australian Boradcasting Company. June 23, 2014. Television broadcast. http://search.informit.com.au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/documentSummary;dn=TSM201406230011;res=TVNEWS.